Investment Management

Cromwell’s approach to investment management is driven by our bottom-up House View process which clearly defines what we believe are the compelling investment opportunities within the markets in which we operate.

Our Investment Management team keeps a close eye on the local market, to strategically source and transact on opportunities within Germany with the goal of maximising returns for our investors.

Our structured investment method encompasses thorough local market and economic research, tenant information and property analysis which is managed through a vigorous and detailed technical, environmental, financing, structuring and legal due diligence process.

We proactively approach owners, developers and municipalities in the German market, as well as maintaining excellent relationships with national and local brokers, to source deals where we can “buy smart, add value, sell smart”.

In Germany we are currently actively seeking high quality real estate investments in the office, retail and industrial distribution warehouse / smaller logistics sectors.

To understand more about our investment criteria, please contact our German team.

Bridge Portfolio

The Bridge Portfolio was a CMBS workout mandate where Cromwell was appointed by the Special Servicer, the Bridge property companies, following a competitive process, to replace the incumbent asset managers of a portfolio of CMBS assets within Windermere X CMBS Limited.

The portfolio comprised six office assets, totalling 190,000 sq m and the mandate required a focused strategy to maximise sustainable value in the portfolio and dispose of the assets at the optimum time.

The German team had a clear remit to increase the weighted average lease term, reposition existing tenants and introduce new tenants, as well as maximise value through the disposal of either individual or portfolios of assets to maximise capital recovery for CMBS note holders.

Upon completion of the asset management and sales process over an 18month period, gross disposal proceeds from the sale were in excess of €320million which was greater than the portfolio’s latest public valuation and a satisfactory outcome for the note holders.

Taurus Portfolio

The Taurus Portfolio previously formed part of the German Retail Portfolio workout mandate which Cromwell was appointed by the corporate service provider, SFM Europe, in 2013 to implement a structured sales process. Cromwell was subsequently reappointed in 2016 to asset manage a portion of the original portfolio.

The original portfolio comprised 28 assets, spread across five federal states ofGermany and let to subsidiaries of Edeka Group, the largest German supermarket operator.

The local team had a clear remit to implement a focused asset management strategy, with asset-by-asset business plans, to extend current leases, reduce void levels and running costs and implement a structured sales process.

The process was completed in three steps. Initially, a portfolio of 15 assets were sold, followed by the sale of two single assets and a smaller portfolio with a regional focus, and finally the disposal of seven cash & carry wholesale markets.

Cromwell was then reappointed by the new owner of the seven cash & carry markets to asset manage this portfolio which is now known as ‘Taurus’.

Investment Management

Zentraler Bestandteil des Investment Management Ansatzes von Cromwell ist der interne Prozess der Bottom-Up-Analyse. In diesem Verfahren können wir klar definieren, welche Investmentopportunitäten in den lokalen Märkten liegen.

Unser Investment Management Team ist in den lokalen Märkten fest verankert und kann dadurch in Deutschland strategisch die Anlagemöglichkeiten erschließen, die das Potenzial besitzen, die Renditeanforderungen unserer Investoren zu erfüllen.

Unser strukturierter Auswahlprozess beinhaltet mehrere Komponenten. Dazu gehört die sorgfältige Analyse der lokalen Märkte und wirtschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen, die Information über den Mieterbesatz und die Analyse der Immobilien selbst, die in einem eingehenden Due Diligence Prozess im Hinblick auf technische, umweltbezogene, finanzielle, rechtlich und wirtschaftliche Risiken überprüft werden.

Wir nehmen bereits im Vorfeld Kontakt zu Eigentümern, Entwicklern und Kommunen auf und pflegen zu den entscheidenden regional und überregional tätigen Maklerhäusern exzellente langjährige Beziehungen, um uns einen strategischen Wettbewerbsvorteil zu verschafften.

In Deutschland suchen wir derzeit hochwertige Immobilien aus den Bereichen, Büro, Handel und Logistik.

Detaillierte Angaben zu unseren Ankaufskriterien erhalten Sie von unserem deutschen Akquisitionsteam. Bitte sprechen Sie uns an.

Bridge Portfolio (Windermere X CMBS Limited)

Das Bridge Portfolio war ein CMBS Workout Mandat das Cromwell vom Special Servicer der Bridge Immobiliengesellschaften übertragen wurde. Cromwell ersetzte damit den bis dahin bei der Windermere X CMBS Limited engagierten Asset Manager und hat sich bei der Vergabe des Mandats gegenüber weiteren Mitbewerbern durchgesetzt. 

Das Portfolio umfasste sechs Büroimmobilien mit insgesamt 190.000 m² Mietfläche. Ziel war es, anhand einer fokussierten Strategie den Wert des Portfolios zu steigern und die Assets zum optimalen Zeitpunkt zu veräußern. 

Das deutsche Team hatte den klaren Auftrag, die Mietrestlaufzeit im Portfolio zu erhöhen und den Verkauf unter Einbeziehung von Einzelfallstrategien umzusetzen, um die Rückflüsse an Darlehensgeber zu sichern. 

Nach Durchführung des Asset Management und Verkaufsprozesses über 18 Monaten wurde ein Erlös von über 320 Million Euro erzielt. Dieser Betrag liegt über der letzten Bewertung des Portfolios und ist ein sehr zufriedenstellendes Ergebnis für die Darlehensgeber.

Taurus Asset Management Mandat

Das Taurus Portfolio gehörte ursprünglich zum Workout Mandat German Retail Portfolio, das Cromwell 2013 vom Corporate Service Provider, SFM Europe, übertragen wurde. Nach Abschluss des Mandats wurde Cromwell 2016 für einen Teil des Originalportfolios wieder als Asset Manager eingesetzt. 

Das ursprüngliche Portfolio umfasste 28 Einzel- und Großhandelsobjekte in fünf Bundesländern, vermietet an Tochtergesellschaften der EDEKA Gruppe, eine der größten deutschen Handelsketten.   

Der Asset Management Auftrag richtete sich darauf, objektspezifische Businesspläne aufzustellen, auf Vertragsverlängerung, Kostensenkung und Vereinbarung eines Zeitplans für den ordentlichen Abverkauf. 

Der Verkaufsprozess wurde in drei Schritten umgesetzt: Zunächst wurde ein 15 Objekte umfassendendes Portfolio veräußert. Mit regionalem Fokus Nordrhein-Westfalen wurde dann der Verkauf von zwei Einzelobjekten und einem kleineren Portfolio durchgeführt. Das Mandat wurde mit dem Verkauf von sieben Cash & Carry Märkten abgeschlossen.  

Cromwell erhielt vom neuen Eigentümer der Cash & Carry Märkte erneut den Asset Management Auftrag für das jetzt unter dem Namen Taurus verwaltete Portfolio